By Matt Loede - 92.3 The Fan's Indians Beat Reporter

CLEVELAND (92.3 The Fan)PEREZ RETURNS: As expected, the Indians today activated closer Chris Perez back to the active roster, sending reliever T.J. House back to AAA Columbus.

Perez is expected to go right back to the Indians closer role, which moves Vinnie Pestano, who has five saves on the season, back to his role as the 8th inning guy.

The last time Perez was on the mound was May 26th in Boston and has been on the 15-day DL since May 27th with a strained right shoulder.

He recently made three rehab appearances, June 16-25, at AA Akron, A Lake County and Short-Season A Mahoning Valley. So far this year he is 2-1 with 6 saves in 8 attempts and a 4.32 ERA in 17 outings (16.2IP, 15H, 9R/8ER, 10BB, 18K, .231AVG) after posting an ERA of 0.64 over his first 14 games (14.0IP, 10H, 2R/1ER).

BYE BYE JOHNNY MAC: The second stint of John McDonald with the Indians was a short one, as today the team moved Johnny Mac to the Phillies for either cash or a player to be named later.

McDonald was acquired from the Pirates on June 10th for cash as a security blanket in the infield while Asdrubal Cabrera was injured. He was designated for assignment by the club yesterday when the team brought Cabrera back.

He spent the first nine years of his Major League career with the Indians.

MINOR LEAGUE STARS: Rosters for the 15th annual SiriusXM All-Star Futures Game were announced yesterday by Major League Baseball.

The SiriusXM All-Star Futures Game, which is now in its 15th year, features the top Minor League prospects competing in a nine-inning contest as part of Taco Bell All-Star Sunday on July 14.

The U.S. Team leads the all-time series, 8-6. The game will begin at 2:00 p.m. (EDT) and can be viewed live on ESPN2, ESPN2 HD and

The Indians will represented by RHP C.C. Lee and SS Francisco Lindor, who will both participate in the game for the World Team. Lindor has been selected for the second consecutive season.

MORE MINOR STARS: Four Indians farmhands have been selected to participate in the 2013 Eastern League All-Star Game presented by Dunkin’ Donuts in New Britain, CT on Wednesday, July 10 at 7:00 PM.

Akron INF Jesus Aguilar, RHP Jose Flores, OF Carlos Moncrief and LHP Matt Packer have all been selected to the Eastern League Western Division All-Star team. Aguilar and Flores were both Fan Balloting Selections.

Follow @Loede923TheFAN


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Listen Live