By DARYL RUITER, 92.3 The Fan Browns Beat ReporterBy Daryl Ruiter | 92.3 The Fan

CLEVELAND (92.3 The Fan) – With the preseason opener a mere 4 days away, the Cleveland Browns released their first depth chart of the season Sunday.

No rookies are listed with the first string and there were very few relative surprises, although the team did not name a definitive starter at left guard, right guard, right cornerback, punter or kicker.

John Greco and Jason Pinkston are listed atop the left guard position while Shawn Lauvao and Pinkston are listed together at right guard.

Chris Ogbonnaya is listed as the starting fullback in front of Owen Marecic, Brad Smelley and Brock Bolen. With a crowded backfield behind Richardson, a move to fullback should greatly increase Ogbonnaya’s chances of making the team.

Rookie linebacker Barkevious Mingo, who has been working with the second-team defense all camp, is listed behind Jabaal Sheard at right outside linebacker.

Buster Skrine and Chris Owens have been rotating throughout camp at right corner and they are listed together in the starting slot with rookie Leon McFadden behind Joe Haden on the left side.

To no surprise, no edge is given to punters T.J. Conley and Spencer Lanning or kickers Shayne Graham and Brandon Bogotay either.

Head coach Rob Chudzinski plans on rotating reps for the kickers in the preseason games as well.

Here is the Browns first full depth chart of 2013:


WR: Josh Gordon, Travis Benjamin, David Nelson, Cordell Roberson, Naaman Roosevelt, Tori Gurley

LT: Joe Thomas, Rashad Butler, Martin Wallace, Chris Faulk

LG: John Greco/Jason Pinkston, Garrett Gilkey

C: Alex Mack, Jarrod Shaw, Braxston Cave

RG: Shawn Lauvao/Jason Pinkston, Aaron Adams, Caylin Hauptmann

RT: Mitchell Schwartz, Oniel Cousins, Ryan Miller, Dominic Alford

TE: Jordan Cameron, Gary Barnidge, Kellen Davis, Dan Gronkowski, Travis Tannahill

WR: Greg Little, Davone Bess, Jordan Norwood, Josh Cooper, Mike Edwards, Dominique Croom

QB: Brandon Weeden, Jason Campbell, Brian Hoyer

RB: Trent Richardson, Montario Hardesty, Dion Lewis, Brandon Jackson, Miguel Maysonet

FB: Chris Ogbonnaya, Owen Marecic, Brad Smelley, Brock Bolen


RE: Desmond Bryant, Billy Winn, Hall Davis, Armonty Bryant

NT: Phil Taylor, Ishmaa’ily Kitchen, Nicolas Jean-Baptiste

LE: Ahtyba Rubin, John Hughes/Brian Sanford, Dave Kruger

OLB: Jabaal Sheard, Barkevious Mingo, Kendrick Adams

ILB: Craig Robertson, Tank Carder/James-Michael Johnson, Justin Cole

ILB: D’Qwell Jackson, L.J. Fort, Tommy Smith

OLB: Paul Kruger, Quentin Groves, Justin Staples

RCB: Buster Skrine/Chris Owens, Akeem Auguste, Vernon Kearney

LCB: Joe Haden, Leon McFadden, Trevin Wade, Abdul Kanneh

FS: Tashaun Gipson, Jamoris Slaughter, Kent Richardson

SS: T.J. Ward, Johnson Bademosi, Josh Aubrey, Kenronte Walker


P: T.J. Conley/Spencer Lanning

K: Shayne Graham/Brandon Bogotay

H: T.J. Conley/Spencer Lanning

KR: Johnson Bademosi/Dion Lewis, Travis Benjamin/Buster Skrine, Naaman Roosevelt, Mike Edwards

PR: Travis Benjamin, Davone Bess, Jordan Norwood, Josh Cooper, Mike Edwards, Naaman Roosevelt

LS: Christian Yount, Billy Winn

The Browns will host the St. Louis Rams Thursday night at FirstEnergy Stadium to kick off the preseason.

Sports Stories You May Also Be Interested In


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Listen Live