Adam Silverstein CBS SPORTS- The Heisman Trophy was awarded for the 82nd time on Saturday night, and it was massive favorite Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson who captured the honor over a group of four other finalists.

Jackson beat out Clemson QB Deshaun Watson, Michigan linebacker Jabrill Peppersand Oklahoma‘s duo of QB Baker Mayfield and wide receiver Dede Westbrook for the award, making him the 14th signal caller to win the award in the last 17 years.

A 19-year-old true sophomore, Jackson is the youngest player to win the Heisman Trophy as he is five days younger than Florida State’s Jameis Winston was when he received the honor at age 19.

Jackson led the Cardinals to a 9-3 record in 2016, completing 57.6 percent of his passes while racking up 3,390 passing yards, 30 touchdowns and nine interceptions. He also ran for 1,538 yards and 21 touchdowns. His 51 total touchdowns were second in the nation to Texas Tech’s Patrick Mahomes, and he was the only player to throw for 3,000 yards and rush for 1,500 yards in 2016 — the first player to do so since Northern Illinois’ Jordan Lynch in 2012.

Jackson led the voting with 2,144 points, more than 600 points ahead of Watson in second place. Jackson’s margin of victory is the sixth largest of all-time.

Here are the full voting results:

1. Lamar Jackson: 2,144 points
2. Deshaun Watson: 1,524 points
3. Baker Mayfield: 361 points
4. Dede Westbrook: 209 points
5. Jabrill Peppers: 208 points


Leave a Reply